Maltodextrin and vegetable milks: be careful if you are gluten intolerant

Also known by the name of Celiac Disease, the gluten intolerance it consists of a disorder of the small intestine caused by an immune response to gluten, a protein of reserve found in wheat in other cereals (such as rye, oats and barley). When a person suffers from gluten intolerance or celiac disease, a series of symptoms such as lack of appetite, nausea and vomiting, abdominal pains or cramps, abdominal distension and gas, feeling of weakness or fatigue and sudden weight loss arise.

Therefore, when a person has celiac disease, he must pay special attention to the list of ingredients that make up the different food products that they buy when they go to a supermarket or large area.

In the case that you prefer the vegetable milks instead of the animal milk, although it is a vegetable drink that is made from cereals and seeds can contain maltodextrin, which is commonly used as a sweetener.

What is maltodextrin?

Maltodextrin is a polysaccharide with great sweetening power, which is obtained by hydrolysis of starch, a type of carbohydrate that we find in a very large variety of foods that are actually very varied, such as cereals, rice or potatoes.

It usually appears as a whitish powder, which is soluble in cold water or hot water, and used in the kitchen to provide a slightly sweet flavor.

Why should people with gluten intolerance be careful with maltodextrin?

Many nutritionists advise celiac people not to risk using products containing maltodextrin as an additive, provided they are not sure of their origin, since both barley and wheat contain gluten, and this additive can be found in products as diverse as a caramel, a jelly or a soup.

On the other hand, it produces an energetic effect similar to that of glucose, since its organism assimilates it quickly, which is why it is not advisable to take vegetable milks containing maltodextrin.

In case of opting for vegetable drinks, the most advisable is to opt for those of cereals, nuts or seeds that do not contain maltodextrin among its ingredients.

Image | Miran Rijavec This article is published for informational purposes only. You can not and should not replace the consultation with a Nutritionist. We advise you to consult your trusted Nutritionist. ThemesVegetable drink

Maltodextrin Dangers - Corn Allergy Symptoms (December 2023)